Pablo Neru-WHO?

Alright! Alright already…… it’s true! Nunca me oir de Pablo Neruda.. I almost feel like if I say it in Spanish the roll of my tongue will unfold like a carpet covering my discretion. He is ONLY one of the MOST FAMOUS Latin American Poets of ALL TIME! Can one really claim being Latino having never read a Neruda Sonnet? Claro que si, but the Latin beat of your heart becomes so much richer with rhythm when you do!

Peace goes into the making of a poem as flour goes into the making of bread.”
–Pablo Neruda

If that’s the case grab your café con leche, (black is good too) your laptop and feast on some of these most amazing morsel’s of poetry ever to grace the minds pallet.

(These are snippets but I encourage you to Google the titles for the complete pieces)

The Noble Prize winner for Literature (1971) wrote at an early age but it was not till this Poem “Song I” that he became famoso at the tender age of twenty.

Body of woman, white hills, white thighs,
you look like the world in your posture of surrender.
My savage peasant body digs through you
and makes the son leap from the depth of the earth.

September 8” (in The Captain’s Verses) is believed to be Inspired by his immense love for his third wife, Matilde Urrutia

Today the tempestuous sea
lifted us in a kiss
so high that we trembled
in the flash of lightning
and, tied together, descended
and submerged without unraveling.
Today our bodies became immense,
they grew up to the edge of the world
and rolled melting themselves
into one single drop
of wax or meteor.
A new door opened between you and me
and someone, still without a face,
was waiting for us there.

Others worth mentioning: Canto General, is a history of Latin America done in Poetry, Ode to the Dictionary is for the Lover of written word, The Queen is to the woman who sits at the throne of her man’s heart, Your Laughter made me gasp y Your Feet is a simplistic poem of praise.

Warning: Not all men are capable of these levels of personal expression. Ladies let your man off the hook. Pero don’t feel bad either pretending that Pablo was thinkin of you when he wrote, “Your caresses enfold me, like climbing vines on melancholy walls. I have forgotten your love, yet I seem to glimpse you in every window..aaaaaa. A girl can dream!

