Empire Beauty: My History with the Museum of Natural History

My Home Away From Home! I love this place! Aside from the dinosaur bones, embalmed animals and ancient historical artifacts that line the halls of The Museum of Natural History, there is another history that I quietly observe as I find myself lingering through its halls once again… The images of visits passed. I’ve been here countless times with friends and family, on school trips as a kid, on dates with ex boyfriends and even alone. I would stroll in on warm summer days, coming in after long central park sun bathing sessions. It never gets old and I’m always discovering something new and fascinating!

So to pay homage to my  history and this amazing museum, I’ve created this review with pics from three different visits! The most recent being this past weekend, I went with my bestie Jessica and her two boys..

I love this quote by Theodore Roosevelt! READ IT… it may inspire you. I love every part but the part that stands out to me the most is ” Courage, hard work, self-mastery and intelligent effort are all essential to a successful life.” Sounds like something my father would say. There are Four Theodore Roosevelt quotes all together inscribed on the walls of the museums Roosevelt Memorial rotunda located at the main entrance. Below is also a display located there… I love the mysteries of life we uncover yet never truly understand.

 I’m instantly AMAZED, EVERY single time! To think, these animals really existed! The museum for me reminds me of the vastness of time, possibilities and universal greatness. There is sooo much out there… Sometimes I feel it’s a sin to stay home when the world is one big treasure hunt.

 

I love to see the little faces light up when they walk into the Dinosaur exhibit…. The look of awe is priceless! As they point their little fingers all the way up and then they look around to point this marvel out to everyone, like they’re the only one in the whole place that’s noticed that there’s a T-Rex in the room! lololol I love it! Then they dash off to further explore and make new discoveries. Like in that moment they’re the archeologist uncovering these bones for the first time.  Sometimes I feel like those kids. I’m fascinated by ALMOST everything! I’ve been called a modern-day hippie many times. I love life and every detail of it that provokes thought. Wether it is “What the fuck? or Wow,What a fuckin’ masterpiece? My breath is taken on a daily basis.

I take a picture with this globe almost every time I visit the museum because one of my dreams is to see the WORLD (in person)! and in someway to be connected to people internationally… This picture represents the fact that this is ALWAYS on my mind. So much so, that when the landlord doesn’t give hot water I close my eyes and imagine I’m under a waterfall in Costa Rica and I do my best to visualize the whole scope… exotic birds chirping and all. A girl can dream! Actually scratch that… IT WILL HAPPEN! You realize there is more to the scope than the island of Manhattan. The world is massive and rich with culture that is slowly being watered down by corporations and fading due to modernization. Nows the time to grasp your pivotal moments, to create the memories that will sustain you through your senior moments. I don’t know why but the museum puts my mind on overload… 🙂

I’m crazy! I’ve never met anyone who has not come to this conclusion. I think I do things sometimes because I want to scream out with my actions to the world LIVE YOUR LIFE! I enjoy the rush of doing things that everyone else is too reserved  or afraid to do… So I jump and am loud… I do cart-wheels in the supermarket and sing in the streets… I love being me. I care about good character and being true to my self.. I don’t care about the extra stuff. One day we will be like these dinosaur bones. We never get this back. What we do keep is how we lived. Unlike bones how we live will never decompose, it will always be apart of the fabric of was. An unspoken history. But it happen. I was there and I’d like to think I lived it well.

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Dr. Seuss

The Mexican culture is rich and amazing!! I went to Mexico on my 24th Birthday. It was insane dollar Top shelf  Tequila shot and the best Mexican cuisine ever! The hand-made crafts and hard work displayed are no surprise when you think about their Mayan roots. These people are so underestimated. The Mayan pieces they have are incredible I can spend all day in this one room alone.

Miniature Mayan Sculptures! I want one! Once upon a time, I had tickets in my hands paid in full, to travel and explore the Mayan trail through Guatemala, Belize and Mexico. I disregarded those plans because I met a man, who I’m no longer with. I will never compromise my happiness, my dreams or my desires for anyone, EVER again…. except for my children and I currently am with out child so there… lol

The photography is also stellar… I cant wait to take such great photos! I wish to document my own Herstory as seen through my eyes so I’m saving for a professional camera. I love to work for and earn my victories… Every snap of my camera will be a pat on my back…lol

Pacific FASHION! I kind of want to do a post just on fashion displayed in the museum… hmmm be on the look out for that one…

People of the Pacific Islands: Easter Island! and me being a LOCA!

Taste very exotic… lol

This is Justin… He and his brother, Jacob are thee most hyper children you shall EVER encounter lol No Seriously…. They are going to be my lil models for my photoshoot… Love them!

These embalmed animals make me sad. I can’t lie. I try to imagine them as they were. I bet when they were hunting down Antelope they never thought they’d be in a museum in New York City, stuffed for observation. I bet they’re in Jungle heaven like “Girl you think too much” lol

My Buddy… Some dude I met at the museum…

I actually know someone who looks like this now! Third head to the right…

My child would totally rock this little get up! So cute… I love Fashion that crosses borders!

I want this for cold nights drinking wine, love-making and dinner in front of the fireplace or fire escape! lol

I’m Dying to go to AFRICA and white water Kayak down the great Zambezi! The African pieces were sick!

 I challenge all tree huggers!

Almost ready to go home! Good luck trying to get a photo with this huge Oyster shell… and yes it is real… This is a huge crowd drawer… I lucked out NO ONE was around!

So it has become a tradition of mine to take a picture with this GIANT squid! Follow me if you dare… go to the museum and you’ll see why…

One of my other faves, the HUGE blue whale on the first floor… these pictures do it no justice! I love to lay underneath it and feel tiny next this life-sized display. Some people walk around complaining about their Starbucks not having enough syrup, or we simply get lost in the routine of life, that we forget about living. If you want to remember, this is a great place to start.

If you go on a summers day, outside is the best during the summer time with the water spouts! This is a great place to get away for the day and it’s all suggested donation! So you pay what you want! Also there are various Cafes throughout the museum… Just in case the tummy is a rumbling… Here are other notable exhibitions that are SPECIAL so require that you pay special fees But these fees include entrance to the rest of the museum:

THE BUTTERFLY CONSERVATORY

HAYDEN PLANETARIUM SPACE SHOWS

BRAIN: THE INSIDE STORY

 HOURS

The Museum is open daily, 10:00 a.m.—5:45 p.m.
The Museum is closed Thanksgiving and Christmas.

PHONE NUMBER: 212-769-5100

Directions

Entrances:The Museum is located at 79th Street and Central Park West and is easily reached by public transportation. The main entrance to the Rose Center for Earth and Space is located at 81st Street between Central Park West and Columbus Avenue.

Main Entrance (79th St. at Central Park West): Every day from 10 a.m. – 5:45 p.m.

Subway Entrance (Lower Level): Every day from 10 a.m. – 5:45 p.m.

Transportation By Subway:

C to 81st Street. Two blocks west of the Museum, the 1 train stops at Broadway and West 79th Street. For a full size subway map, follow this link to go to the Metropolitan Transit Authority Web site.

