Model Diaries: Twiggy, The Worlds First Super Model.

Twiggy

When I was a little girl my dream was to become the next Nikki Taylor or Claudia Schiffer. Every month my mother would buy me the latest Vogue and Elle magazines so that I could observe the style and poses of the times. Her dream for me was to one day see me gracing the cover of one of those legendary periodicals. It was during that impressionable period of my life that I fell in love with everything Fashion and beauty related… especially the industries leading ladies!

Photobucket

Aspiring young artist in the music industry have the likes of Chaka Khan, Gladys night and the late Whitney Houston to emulate and young starlets have Audrey Hepburn, Jean Simmons and Meryl Streep. In the modeling industry, just to name a few, they have Cindy Crawford, Iman, Linda Evangelista, Jean Shrimpton and 60’s Fashion icon Twiggy. Without knowing anything about these women on a personal level I wanted to be just like them. I would stay up all night and imagine how it would be to travel the world, having all eyes gaze upon my beauty and admire my impeccable sense of style.

These days, the only eyes that admire my beauty and impeccable sense of style are those of my fiancée and maybe some passers-by on this road of life, but I’ll never forget the women that help infuse me with fierce confidence, pride in my womanhood and a great appreciation for style that never fades. This is for you ladies.

Photobucket

For my first installment of  ‘Model Diaries’ I will be highlighting 60’s Fashion and beauty icon Twiggy! Some would argue that it was because of she that the term ‘Super model’ was invented.

Photobucket

Lesley Hornby, known as the first woman in the existence of modeling to don the title ‘Super Model’, became a house hold name by the age of sixteen. Except… it wasn’t the Name Lesley Hornby that turned hippie heads, it was the globally known ‘Twiggy’. A nickname she acquired due to her lanky teenage frame. While other girls her age were obsessing over boys and what to wear for prom, Twiggy was rocking designer threads on the cover of almost every fashion magazine in circulation during that time. And instead of worrying about being voted valedictorian she was too busy being recognized as ‘British Woman of the Year’ in 1966 at the tender age of seventeen. She was an international Phenomenon. Her work ethic was impeccable and though she was thought to be flighty, it only added to her charm.

Photobucket

The relentless model went on to a successful music career in 67′ climbing the charts to 17 in the UK with her hit ‘Here I go again’.  Through the course of her career music would play a huge role, as would a budding acting career that would later win her two Golden Globes, one of those being for ‘New female star of the Year’. In 2005 she joined the judges panel on ‘Americas Next Top Model’.  This beast of a woman has done it all! Modeling, singing, theater, TV, movies, books and a ton of humanitarian work. Her list of accomplishment is endless and she’s still not done. She is a power house of a woman.

Photobucket

I remember it like it was yesterday, doing pretend photo shoots with my mom thinking “one day I’m going to be a ‘Super Model!” I laugh now, as my dreams have surpassed those of my youth, but still, I remember seeing beyond the glossy pages and observing not just beautiful women but dreamers just like myself… confident, fearless, smart and fierce modern-day goddesses that I looked up to with the most innocent eyes. I saw that they had presence and they appeared to be “in control” of their lives. Today I have a different understanding regarding the reality of the business. Still, I will always smile when I think about that little girl flipping through the pages of the september issue happy as can be. Riding my ambition with training wheels.

Twiggy

Click image to be redirected to the official twiggy website.

Dios te Bendiga

